Saturday, September 20, 2008

Love Languages: descriptions and a quiz

I learned about love languages years ago when I attended a session sponsored by the Gratiot-Isabella Regional Education Service District (RESD). The lesson stuck with me over the years and knowing what the five love languages helped me to understand myself and those I love the most including my son with autism.

The languages were identified by Dr. Gary Chapman, an author on the subject of love and marriage. The five love languages are: words of affirmation, quality time, receiving gifts, acts of service, and physical touch. My guy with ASD appreciates words of affirmation, quality time and receiving gifts. Physical touch probably would rank at the bottom of his list as he really hasn't ever been much of a hugger though he tolerates it alright.

If you want to see what your love language is here is a link to a 30-question quiz. The best thing about this quiz is that you don't have to supply any emails or personal information to see the results. The results pop up right away with a brief explanation of how to interpret them.

P.S. As a parent, I found that praise in particular (which falls under words of affirmation category) goes along way with both of my sons. I find I feel better too, whenever I offer them positive, affirming words. Take care--jml.


Casdok said...

I also praise C all the time, give him quality time and many acts of service!
Physical touch he finds difficult as giving him gifts.
So 3 out of 5 isnt bad!!

J said...

No three out of five is excellent. You're a great mom! : )

Anonymous said...

Words of affirmation and Quality time came up for my language after I did the quiz. I would have to say M would be very similar to mine. Not sure though. Touch would not be high on the list for M but she does require lots of hugs.

I have read those books and found them to be very helpful.